

# Annual Membership Meeting Minutes Bonclarken Conference Center Flat Rock, NC June 5, 2015

## **Opening Comments:**

The annual meeting of Christian Pharmacists Fellowship International was called to order by President Fred Eckel at 4:30 PM in the Mike and Lib Patrick Conference Room of The Lodge. Fred provided the opening invocation.

M/S/C (H. Hames/B. Fairchild) to suspend the reading of the minutes of the 2014 Business meeting and to approve them as printed.

President Eckel recognized and welcomed two new CPFI members to their first annual meeting.

### **New Business:**

No new business was noted.

### **Special Reports:**

Treasurer Greg Carlson reported that the year 2014 financially finished "in the black." He also announced a new giving program, "The Power Hour". This new program will encourage members to donate the equivalent of one hour of their current pay on a regular monthly basis to CPFI.

Keith Allhands, co-chair of the Annual Meeting committee reported that the 2016 meeting will be held June 8-12 at the newly remodeled Springmaid Beach Resort in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. (The resort is now a Doubletree property.) He also indicated the dates for the 2017 conference are June 14-18 at the Glen Eyrie Conference Center in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

Keith also reported, for the Missions Committee, that there continue to be available pharmacist spots on a number of mission teams for the balance of 2015. The annual Global Missions Health Conference will again be held in Louisville, KY in November. Members were encouraged to considering attending. An Evangelism and Outreach program is currently in development stages. Visit the CMDA website for further details. The entire report of the committee is available on line.

### **Election of Officers:**

President Fred Eckel reviewed the changes in Bylaws approved in 2013 which reduced the size of the board and is being completed with this year's elections. Two members will be elected to the board for 3-year terms and two members for 1-year terms.

CPFI PO Box 1154 Bristol, TN 33621-1154 Office: (423) 844-1043 Toll Free: (888) 253-6885 office@cpfi.org Nominees for the Board of Directors for a 3-year term are Gene Erb and Jordan Daniel. Nominees for the Board of Directors for a 1-year term are Joy Greene and Courtney Mospan. There were no nominations from the floor. M/S/C (R.Herman/L.DeBoni) to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot as presented.

The election for Vice President followed. A slate of two candidates was presented, to be elected for a 2-year term, Jeff Copeland and Gene Lutz. Each offered brief comments prior to the voting. There were no nominations from the floor.

### Announcements:

During the tallying of ballots for vice president, members Luigi DeBoni and Paul Kopanga Kapua requested that any CPFI member or mission team with interest should contact Luigi about the process of establishing new CPFI groups in additional countries.

Executive Director Ron Herman reported on the progress of refining and adapting the CMDA Ethics Statements as also belonging to CPFI so that a united front can be presented when called upon in future discussions, legislative proposals and possible legal challenges that may arise. These refined statements will be posted to the CPFI website when completed.

Susan Lutz, co-chairperson of the silent auction, expressed the thanks of the committee for the outstanding support of this year's auction. The final total of money raised, to be donated to the CPFI program in the Democratic Republic of Congo, will be announced at the closing banquet.

President Fred Eckel provided an update on the status of CPFI's move to Bristol, TN and its relationship with CMDA. He reported that a closer working relationship is developing with CMDA. Plans to hold a CPFI Board meeting in Bristol in 2016 will be forthcoming, with the goal of exploring further joint activities with CMDA for the future.

National Student Council representative Austin Greanias introduced the new student representative, Shawn Kohlhaas from Shenandoah University.

### Adjournment:

The closing benediction was given by President Fred Eckel. Meeting adjourned at 5:15PM.

Immediately following adjournment, a tie vote was announced in the election for Vice President. Because some in attendance had already departed the meeting, it was determined that a second vote would be conducted at 8:45 AM on June 6, just prior to the beginning of the morning's programming.

This vote was completed, and the new Vice President for a 2-year term is Gene Lutz. Jeff Copeland will continue on a Board member to complete his term of office.

Respectfully and prayerfully submitted,

Susan C. Lutz, Secretary